Glittering Awards Evening Concludes Memorable Year

42f Presentation Evening

The annual Presentation of Awards & Dining-In Night of 42F (King’s Lynn) Squadron Air Training Corps was held in King’s Lynn Town Hall on Monday 16th November. Invited guests joined cadets, staff, civilian committee and parents to hear of the Squadron’s activities over the preceding twelve months and to congratulate the cadet recipients of a raft of awards for individual endeavours.

Following the formal dinner supplied by the ‘West Norfolk Flying Chef’ caterers the Squadron’s Commanding Officer, Flight Lieutenant Pauline Petch, gave an address covering the numerous activities that the cadets had participated in, over the preceding year saying that “there have been many personal successes within the cadet team, including Sergeant Jack Savage who completed the Junior Leaders Course and also a flying scholarship. Also Cadet Warrant Officer Alex Stapleton who was awarded the Lord Lieutenant’s Cadet Badge”. She outlined the numerous civic and public events that the Squadron’s cadets had participated in throughout the year including one that could only be described as “the main event this year, 42F (King’s Lynn) Squadron exercising their Freedom of the Borough with a parade along the quay, an inspection by the Mayor, and two flypasts. A fantastic achievement for the Squadron, one that words cannot express”.

This was followed by an address by guest of honour Mr. Nicholas Pratt the High Sheriff of Norfolk who, during his speech, praised the cadets for their keenness dedication and smartness. He said “I have seen you first hand on a number of occasions, including when you exercised your freedom and on a visit to the squadron on a parade night, and I have been very impressed”.

The presentation of the 2015 awards then followed,
Best Cadet, Cdt Elliot Simpson. Presented by Mr. Michael Forster. (RAFA).
Best NCO, Cpl Jacob Bullock. Presented by Cllr Mr. Colin Manning. (Mayor).
Best New Recruit, Cdt Amber Stannard. Presented by SAC Anthony, (RAF Marham}.
George Cole Community Award. Cpl Victoria Norwood. Presented by Mike Lister (Chairman 42F Civilian Committee).
Harry King Aviation studies, Cpl Gab Kiselieus. Presented by Wing Commander Williamson (RAF Marham).
Geoff Bullen Flying Cup. Sgt Jack Savage. Presented by Mr. Edward Barrett.
Sports Award, Cdt Charlie Gardyne. Presented by Sir Michael Oswald KCVO
Sgt Hagon Award (for Endeavour), Cdt Dillen Cooper. Presented by Mr. Nicholas Pratt (High Sheriff of Norfolk).
Consents Solutions Award (for Continued Diligence & Effort).  Cdt Pink. Presented by Flt Lt James Perner, ATC
The inter Flight competition winners for 2015 were A Flight.

Following the awards ceremony a well-supported raffle, organised by the Squadron’s civilian committee, raised £286 for squadron funds.