Coningsby Air cadets Celebrate Success

Air cadets from 17 (Coningsby) Squadron recently held their Annual Presentation evening at Coningsby Village Hall.

17 Group a - Prize winners (1)
This is the one night of the year where the Air Cadets from the Coningsby get to celebrate their achievements in front of their peers, family and friends; along with special guests, Brian Willis., The president of the Tattershall and Coningsby and District British Legion, RAF Coningsby Station Chaplain, Rachel Cook, and the former Officer Commanding, Flying Officer Rob Eyre. Presenting the awards was Wing Commander Matthew Peterson who is the Officer Commanding 11 Squadron at RAF Coningsby representing the Station Commander.
Carl Davis, the chairman of Civilian Committee said, “The Presentation evening was a great success and very well attended by parents and families. It really was a celebration of achievement not just by those Cadets who were deserving enough to receive a trophy but of the Squadron’s achievements as a whole”.
The Awards went to:

Best Sporting Achievement, Cadet Dylan and Morgan Jessett.
Best None Commissioned Officer, Flight Sargent Robert Davies.
Cadets Cadet, Corporal Emma Pybus.
Best Academic Cadet, Corporal Emma Pybus.
Best Attendance, Cadet Dylan Jessett.
Best Cadet Training Flight Cadet, Cadet Jonny Owens.
Best Cadet, Sargent Jess Sherwood.
Shield of Endeavour, Cadet Hunter Ayling.
Civilian Committee Award, Flight Sargent Robert Davies and Flight Sargent Ryan Fido.
Most Improved Cadet Corporal, Chris Sykes.
The Commanding Officers Cadet, Cadet Jack Pybus.
Station Commanders Cadet for 2016, Corporal Daniel Arden.

Following the award presentations the Squadron Commander Francine Mahmud said, “I would like to express my thanks to: all our guests, the committee for their continued support and organisation. To all of the cadets who once again have represented our unit in the best light and finally to the staff. Whilst it wouldn’t be appropriate for me to have a “best staff member” award as they would all be deserving winners. I think there is no better time than to acknowledge the commitment from our staff team. None of the events we saw on the presentation earlier would have been possible without them. So from the cadets and myself I would like to thank you and we look forward to your continuing efforts in 2016”.